Neal Kelly – Operations Director, PDMS Ltd – Nov 2018

“I recently attended the “Developing a High-Performance Culture” seminar given by Emma Walker of SmartHR.  The session was thought provoking, informative and enjoyable. In a relatively short period of time Emma was able to cover a broad subject, give us the opportunity to share our collective experiences and learn about some of the leading HR perspectives. I will be looking out for more presentations and workshops led by Emma and SmartHR.”

Debbie Scrimshaw – Director, Paragon (HR & Recruitment) Ltd – Oct 2018

“Dear Gail, Jo and I wanted to thank you for delivering Equality training to our Recruitment Consultants and Administration Team this morning. Feedback was great, they found the content and delivery spot on – targeted, effective and full of practical applications and examples. It’s so valuable in terms of time and impact to have design and delivery of training tailored specifically to the needs of our industry, business and teams. Much appreciated, and we’ll certainly recommend to any of our clients seeking similar support.”

John Tottenham – Managing Director, Zeffyr Services Limited – Sept 2018

“In transitioning from being part of a large FTSE250 Company with all the support of the Group Functions to being a standalone entity, we engaged with SmartHR to help us establish all our new HR policies and procedures, including a new Staff Manual and staff contracts. Doing so has proved to be one of the best decisions we made: what at first seemed a mountain to climb was quickly and efficiently dealt with by Gail whose engaging manner and deep knowledge of her subject allowed her to quickly assess our existing group policies and tailor them to meet our new needs with the minimum of fuss. Since then she has also proved to be an invaluable confidante and adviser on HR matters across the board and I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending her and her company.”

Steve Brennan – Chief Executive, Gambling Supervision Commission – Sept 2018

“SmartHR provided a thorough, professional, first class service to the Gambling Supervision Commission. Gail and Julia were super to work with, understood our issues, provided options and made recommendations that are now starting to bear fruit. The Commission continues to use SmartHR for advice and support in the on-going development of its HR practices and I would have no hesitation in recommending Gail and her team to any organisation.”

Tracey Wiltcher – Director, Nedgroup Investments – Sept 2018

“Nedgroup Investments engages SmartHR to provide advice and guidance on a wide variety of human resources related matters. The current changes and updates to employment law affect all employers and it is vital that we adhere to best practice at all times. Gail provides a knowledgeable and efficient service and with her guidance we can be sure that our HR procedures and processes align with the highest industry standards. Working with Gail at SmartHR is a highly cost effective method of engaging a professional HR resource and her patient expertise is always only a phone call away.”

Kaylee Guy – APGJ Travel Counsellors Ltd – May 2018

“Gail is always such a pleasure to deal with. This is the second time I have used the services of SmartHR and they are so quick, efficient and professional. Gail has a great deal of knowledge and I have no hesitation in recommending the services of SmartHR to everyone.”

Nigel Gregg – Group Managing Director, MAC Group – April 2018

“MAC Group engaged with SmartHR as part of our commitment to maintain our position as the employer of choice within the IFA sector and as the largest Corporate Financial Adviser on the Island. Through a combination of MAC’s dedication to supporting our staff and SmartHR’s excellent levels of professional advice, we have been extremely pleased with the support and end results of our partnership and look forward to this continuing in the future.”

Mark Byrne – Director, ICM Group – April 2018

“SmartHR has been providing a fully managed HR solution to the ICM Group since July 2017. ICM is a multi-jurisdictional Corporate Services Provider and SmartHR provides onsite and offsite support two days a week to ensure all HR matters are managed effectively and proactively. SmartHR is efficient, reliable, wise, cost effective and fun to work with and we would highly recommend their services.”

Aalish Hannan – Director, Hannan Law – Aug 2017

“Gail has been assisting with our HR requirements for 12 months and has provided professional and efficient support and is always on hand to provide a prompt response to any queries.”

Debbie Scrimshaw – Director, Paragon Recruitment – May 2017

“The tailored advice and support we received when reviewing our own Staff Handbook and Contracts of Employment were conducted by SmartHR in an empathetic, appropriate and direct manner, enabling us to make a swift and positive impact to our business. Paragon Recruitment are delighted to recommend Smart HR, both for our own business and also to the client businesses we work with. The service flexibility, access, quality and demonstrable expertise ensures real business value; Gail and Julia are true professionals; commercial, knowledgeable and an absolute pleasure to work with.”

Julia Erskine – Director, Rose Estates Limited – May 2017

“SmartHR assisted with the preparation of our new employee contracts and company handbook. They provided a fast and efficient service and were knowledgeable on all aspects of HR legislation. We would recommend SmartHR as a cost effective and convenient way of addressing any HR related matters.”

Charlotte Evans – Director, TransMann – April 2017

“As the Business Manager of a Transport Firm, I am often the first point of contact for HR related issues. Not having an HR background has often left me feeling cautious and vulnerable when dealing with difficult or sensitive issues. We first started using SmartHR to review our HR documents which we received an excellently thorough, efficient and personal service. Since then we have benefited from their services for a wide range of issues. Their knowledge, professionalism and impartial advice has enabled us to ensure that we are structured in a way to support the people needs of our business. There have been times when I’ve needed advice out of hours and SmartHR have always accommodated my needs. Julia’s approach is always clear, to the point, independent and professional and I personally value the support she has given me. I would have no hesitation in recommending her wholeheartedly.”

Stuart Colligon – Chairman, Panacea Pharma Projects Ltd – Mar 2017

“As a small, growing company, it can be hard to keep on top of the ever-growing HR management pressures, which can begin to dominate the day to day running of a business. We decided to appoint an HR Consultant two years ago, to help us properly manage the HR aspects of the business and to allow us to focus on delivering the business strategy. We chose SmartHR, and our only regret is not having done so sooner. Within the first six months all our HR documentation, policies and procedures were updated, revised or rewritten, giving us the confidence that we were finally on top of our obligations as an employer. In the period since then, HR within the company has developed significantly under Gail’s guidance, and now itself forms a crucial part of the overall business strategy, driving the business forward, and there are tangible benefits showing across every part of the company.  SmartHR has provided our company with invaluable HR support and guidance, succeeding in being both cost-effective and operationally effective. In addition to her dedicated time in our offices, Gail has been available at short notice to give advice, which has enabled the business to continue to grow knowing we are doing the right thing for our business and our staff. We have found, and increasingly find, SmartHR to be an essential part of our business and would highly recommend them.  We use SmartHR as we are too small to justifiably afford a full-time HR Manager, and in terms of staff we have become too big to not have good HR expertise available. Using SmartHR was an obvious solution. We have used SmartHR’s services since January 2015 – I cannot imagine how life would be without SmartHR! The expertise and knowledge is available ‘on tap’ and has provided us with excellent guidance through some pretty tricky HR moments. The Directors have often commented on what a brilliant decision it has proved to be. Initially, the enormous task was to correct, update and standardise all the HR documentation. The Staff Handbook was re-created and distributed properly across the company. The employment contracts were brought in line with both IOM and UK legislations for our staff on-island and off. The staff appraisal system was overhauled. Having spent most of the first year resolving these ‘remedial’ works, we are now doing HR planning for the first time. The overarching benefit is the ‘comfort blanket’ of knowing that we are not sleep-walking into any HR traps and that we are handling situations that arise correctly. That confidence is rubbing off on the wider team, who appreciate that we now have an extremely professional approach to HR.  Thank you for your knowledge and expertise, we look forward to having a long working relationship with SmartHR.”

Christopher Astley – Director, EAM Ltd – Mar 2017

“Gail and SmartHR have been essential to my business over the last 12 months. Her professional approach, guidance to me as a Director and flexible / adhoc availability mean that we / EAM Ltd as a local IOM SME have been able to punch well above their weight. I have no hesitation recommending SmartHR to anyone seeking professional, reliable and effective human resource services”

Hugh Logan – Managing Director, Hugh Logan Architects – Feb 2017

“Gail gave us simple and practical advice in preparing our Staff Handbook. Ideal for any small business.”

Mike Stanton – Business Development / Change Manager, Celton Manx Ltd – June 2015

“Partnering with SmartHR for HR Consultancy and support has been the ideal solution for Celton Manx. Our ongoing HR demands do not justify a full-time, specialist role. However, when we have an issue, the speed and relevance of Gail’s responses are equal to an in-house professional. From dealings with her it is obvious that she maintains her knowledge of current legislation and industry best practice. Gail also also worked hard to understand our company culture and the business environment in which we operate. The combination of these two important elements means that on an ad hoc basis we benefit from latest HR principles and practices that are tailored specifically for our needs.”

Findlay Macleod – Managing Director, Isle of Man Creamery Ltd – June 2015

“Isle of Man Creamery have used the services of SmartHR since early 2013. Gail has, at all times, provided excellent advice and support on all matters relating to HR including recruitment, disciplinary procedures, redundancy processes and performance management. She has earned the trust and confidence of our team throughout the organisation by operating with the highest level of integrity, professionalism and operational understanding.”

Martin Norbury – Director (Operations) and Company Secretary, Isle of Man Advertising and PR – June 2015

“Our size would preclude having a full-time dedicated HR function and Gail’s accurate, thorough and professional service is the perfect and cost-effective answer. Her advice and support is first class and we would happily recommend SmartHR for any HR matter whether seemingly simple or complex.”

Julie Leaton – Director, Manx Business Solutions Limited – Nov 2014

“As a small but growing company we wanted to review all our HR Documents, Contracts and Company Handbook. We started to look into doing this ourselves and what a mine field! We then contacted SmartHR and we were delighted with the professional service that Gail has delivered. Gail provided proactice advice. Her friendly down to earth attitude is refreshing and it’s great on any HR matters going forward to have an external viewpoint and her experience to hand. The awards that SmartHR has won over the last couple of years is a testament to the highly professional and comprehensive service that Gail provides and we have no hesitation in recommending SmartHR to others.”

Wesley Rossouw, Director – Palstave Limited – Jan 2014

“We first met Gail in 2011 where she assisted us in the restructuring and renewing of all things HR. Gail has subsequently been a friendly, extremely knowledgeable and helpful point of call for any HR queries, no matter how simple or complex. We recently opened a subsidiary in South Africa where we wanted to maintain the best practices of the Isle of Man, while ensuring we still meet the local legal requirements, to create a South African Staff Handbook. Gail was once again the point of call and she was able to clearly deliver this international solution.”

Unlock your people potential

We can support transforming your HR function and improving culture and engagement.

Get in touch

Client Testimonials

""
  • “I recently attended the “Developing a High-Performance Culture” seminar given by Emma Walker of SmartHR.  The session was thought provoking, informative and enjoyable. In a relatively short period of time Emma was able to cover a broad subject, give us the opportunity to share our collective experiences and learn about some of the leading HR perspectives. I will be looking out for more presentations and workshops led by Emma and SmartHR.”

    Neal Kelly – Operations Director, PDMS Ltd – Nov 2018
  • “Dear Gail, Jo and I wanted to thank you for delivering Equality training to our Recruitment Consultants and Administration Team this morning. Feedback was great, they found the content and delivery spot on – targeted, effective and full of practical applications and examples. It’s so valuable in terms of time and impact to have design and delivery of training tailored specifically to the needs of our industry, business and teams. Much appreciated, and we’ll certainly recommend to any of our clients seeking similar support.”

    Debbie Scrimshaw – Director, Paragon (HR & Recruitment) Ltd – Oct 2018
  • “In transitioning from being part of a large FTSE250 Company with all the support of the Group Functions to being a standalone entity, we engaged with SmartHR to help us establish all our new HR policies and procedures, including a new Staff Manual and staff contracts. Doing so has proved to be one of the best decisions we made: what at first seemed a mountain to climb was quickly and efficiently dealt with by Gail whose engaging manner and deep knowledge of her subject allowed her to quickly assess our existing group policies and tailor them to meet our new needs with the minimum of fuss. Since then she has also proved to be an invaluable confidante and adviser on HR matters across the board and I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending her and her company.”

    John Tottenham – Managing Director, Zeffyr Services Limited – Sept 2018
  • “SmartHR provided a thorough, professional, first class service to the Gambling Supervision Commission. Gail and Julia were super to work with, understood our issues, provided options and made recommendations that are now starting to bear fruit. The Commission continues to use SmartHR for advice and support in the on-going development of its HR practices and I would have no hesitation in recommending Gail and her team to any organisation.”

    Steve Brennan – Chief Executive, Gambling Supervision Commission – Sept 2018
  • “Nedgroup Investments engages SmartHR to provide advice and guidance on a wide variety of human resources related matters. The current changes and updates to employment law affect all employers and it is vital that we adhere to best practice at all times. Gail provides a knowledgeable and efficient service and with her guidance we can be sure that our HR procedures and processes align with the highest industry standards. Working with Gail at SmartHR is a highly cost effective method of engaging a professional HR resource and her patient expertise is always only a phone call away.”

    Tracey Wiltcher – Director, Nedgroup Investments – Sept 2018
View all testimonials
Copyright © Smart HR Solutions Limited 2018 Web design & development by Scorch Isle of Man